Anne Marie's Australian Adventure

Follow the Adventures of Anne Marie, Fergus, Cooper and Bean Sidhe in Australia!!

Fergus’ Birthday Weekend

Posted by Anne Marie Serrano on November 11, 2008

We had fun last weekend celebrating Fergus’ birthday. On Saturday I had rehearsal until 5pm. That evening we had dinner at an upscale Turkish restaurant – Ottoman Cuisine. Reviews of it are mixed – they think they are a fancier than they are but we found the food to be yummy. I gave Fergus a ceramic caricature sculpture of us sitting with the kids on the sofa. Fiona Sullivan, the artist, displays her work at the Old Bus Depot Markets on Sundays. I saw her work the very first weekend we moved here and it always made me smile. Before Pat and Britt returned to the US I asked her to take a picture of us with the kids on the sofa of our house here. Fiona was able to make the sculpture using the pictures I gave her. I thought he would get a kick out of it – and he loved it. art2

art11

They make me smile whenever I look at them. She made Fergus’ hair a little too blond (it should be mostly grey and she made me very skinny which I like a lot. Bean Sidhe is a bit wider than her sculpture but Cooper’s eyes are perfect – his grey circles like a pair of glasses. Too cute!!!

On Sunday we took a LONG bike ride around the west side of Burley Griffin Lake. I don’t know how many miles (or kilometers) it is but I was really tired afterwards. Then we rushed over to see the Cirque Du Soleil show – Dralion. It was fabulous. We saw the Cirque Du Soleil show – Love in Las Vegas a couple of years ago (or was it last year – oh how time flys) and thought it was terrific, this one didn’t have the Beatles music like Love but is was still very spectacular with crazy costumes and incredible gymnastic feats. After the show we had a salad and risotto at one of our favorite spots – Babar’s one of the few places in town you don’t need to book ahead.

I should also mention the weather, warm and sunny. Overall it made for a wonderful weekend. On Saturday we head to New Zealand. If I don’t get a chance to blog while we are on the road tune in around the 30th for highlights of our trip to the Land of Clouds. Here’s wishing all of you at home a Happy Thanksgiving just in case I don’t have access to the computer until we return to Canberra.

One Response to “Fergus’ Birthday Weekend”

  1. Justina said

    Great sculpture – so cute! We saw Love last year in Vegas, and we’ve seen a few other cirque shows too. They’re pretty much all fabulous. Did you hear that we’re getting married in Vegas right before Christmas? Just decided pretty recently, we’re trying to keep it fairly easy and inexpensive, for ourselves and families. I hope you have a great trip!

Leave a Reply

 
